Sponsors of Wiimoteproject.com
IR Pens for Wiimote Whiteboard
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AC adapter for Wii remote  (Read 12288 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
*
Karma: +5/-0
Posts: 78
Offline Offline
View Profile WWW Email
« on: February 02, 2008, 10:40:35 PM »

I realize that the wii remote will function some while on just regular batteries but if I were to implement the interactive white board and use it regularly in my classroom, having to constantly change batteries will be a pain. Has anyone thought of developing an ac adapter/powered cradle or such? I will gladly admit that this sort of thing is way above my knowledge or ability.
Logged

Wiimote Whiteboard Expert and seller - http://penteractive.us
*
Karma: +2/-0
Posts: 50
Offline Offline
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2008, 05:48:27 AM »

something like this
http://www.amazon.com/Power-Adapter-Battery-Eliminator-Camcorder/dp/B000XQTH28
Logged

Rich
The Edusim Project

http://edusim3d.com
*
Karma: +5/-0
Posts: 78
Offline Offline
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2008, 08:34:46 PM »

Exactly!  Smiley
Logged

Wiimote Whiteboard Expert and seller - http://penteractive.us
*
Karma: +2/-0
Posts: 50
Offline Offline
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2008, 05:27:17 PM »

might try a google search for "AA Battery Eliminator" .... bet there is something out there that fits.
Logged

Rich
The Edusim Project

http://edusim3d.com
Wiki Admin
*
Karma: +5/-0
Posts: 124
Offline Offline
inio2 View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2008, 12:41:36 AM »

I just slapped a 2.85V regulator inside mine.  Soldering to the battery contacts is a PITA though - they just refuse to wet.
Logged
*
Karma: +5/-0
Posts: 78
Offline Offline
View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2008, 03:12:14 AM »

I just received today the item that richwhite referred to above. At first I was concerned but with a little modification of both the adapter and the wii remote, all works perfectly. I'm ordering another today. Constant power to the wii remote...nice.
Logged

Wiimote Whiteboard Expert and seller - http://penteractive.us
*
Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 2
Offline Offline
View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2008, 10:32:14 PM »

I just received today the item that richwhite referred to above. At first I was concerned but with a little modification of both the adapter and the wii remote, all works perfectly. I'm ordering another today. Constant power to the wii remote...nice.

jmitchell,

What is the verdict on your solution now that some time has passed?  Still a recommend?

Thanks!
Logged
Support Admin
*
Karma: +11/-3
Posts: 566
Offline Offline
View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2008, 09:21:01 AM »

You know there is rechargable batterypacks that has a USB connector - I think its HAMA or DELTACO (you remove your batteries and lid - then replace with this one)
Logged

Support Admin
*
Karma: +49/-0
Posts: 1178
Offline Offline
benpaddlejones@live.com.au View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2008, 02:57:46 AM »

You know there is rechargable batterypacks that has a USB connector - I think its HAMA or DELTACO (you remove your batteries and lid - then replace with this one)

Heeps on ebay like this one:
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=360046090549&_trksid=p3984.cWAT.m240.lVI

Just hook to your laptops USB no need for AC and extension cords etc.

benpaddlejones :-
Logged


See my full profile and links on my Google Profile: http://www.google.com/profiles/benpaddlejones
*
Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 24
Offline Offline
View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2008, 06:15:32 PM »

I just received today the item that richwhite referred to above. At first I was concerned but with a little modification of both the adapter and the wii remote, all works perfectly. I'm ordering another today. Constant power to the wii remote...nice.

I just received my battery converter as well and cannot get it to work with the wiimote.  Possibly because the output is 5 volts instead of 3.  What were the modifications you had to make??
Logged
*
Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 20
Offline Offline
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2008, 11:50:14 AM »

Hi All,
About a 2.85 voltage regulator:  seems difficult to find.
Over here they all seem to start at 5 volt.
Questio: Which manufacturer and part number.
Thanks in advance,
Dirk
Logged
Wiki Admin
*
Karma: +5/-0
Posts: 124
Offline Offline
inio2 View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2008, 07:26:30 PM »

If you go to a real electronics supplier (not Radio Shack) you can get just about any regulator imaginable.  the 2.85 I'm using is:

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=LM1117T-2.85-ND
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Clicky Web Analytics