Wiimote Project » Wiimote Projects » Other Projects » New project - theremin/synth controller/dj scratch/dj mix
: [1]

: New project - theremin/synth controller/dj scratch/dj mix  ( 7543 )
0 and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
: 7
« : January 18, 2009, 10:10:17 PM »

Hello,

I am somewhat new to this but have been thinking along similar lines as some of the other work I see here as well as the great work Ken Moore has done on the Wii theremin front.

I am a Computer Science student at Cal State with a minor in Recording Arts. I was a professional club DJ for a number of years and have been fascinated with music production most of my life. My interest in the theremin has ramped up recently and my initial idea for a Senior project involved creating a virtual digital theremin. Of course I thought this was an original idea until I started researching and saw all the awesome work done out there already on the web.

After seeing Ken Moore's site I decided that the Wiimote route was the best way to go, at least for the time being, as it is cheap and easy. 2 big pluses in my book.

Anyways, my idea is to create a Wii triggered application that will do the theremin thing, as well as controlling other synth parameters such as resonance or various filters, and couple it with the DJ side - the ability to scratch is a must and perhaps even, although this may be a bit ambitious, the ability to mix just like on 2 1200s with a mixer.

I see there is already some work on here done along these lines and am excited at the possibilities. I plan to completely design and code the app and UI myself, mostly from scratch, although using the available libraries that are out there for the Wii mechanics. I have already set up a Wiimote with a bluetooth dongle and IR led and found a piece of software (http://onakasuita.org/wii/index-e.html) that lets me use the LED to control my mouse. So that's a start...