Author Topic: Wii remote will not connect to dell  (Read 17090 times)

Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
on: October 25, 2010, 07:05:04 PM
I have a dell inspiron 1720. Windows Vista 32 bit ultimate. It has built in bluetooth. Under "bluetooth radios" in the device manager, it lists 2:

Dell wireless 355 module with bluetooth 2.0 + edr technology with trace filter

Microsoft bluetooth enumerator

I click on add new bluetooth device and hold down 1 + 2 on the wii mote. The computer finds it and installs drivers and says it is ready to use, but the 4 lights continue to flash and no software will work with it (glovepie, winflash, winremote). They all say it is not connected. After a minute or so the 4 leds stop flashing and the remote dissapears from the list of connected bluetooth devices.

So what do you think?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2010, 07:43:54 PM by mscheaf »



Offline boonjin

  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: +28/-0
  • Smoothboard Developer
    • View Profile
    • Smoothboard
Reply #1 on: October 25, 2010, 07:48:37 PM
Hi,

Have you tried Smoothboard to connect your Wiimote?

After connecting, the Blue LEDs on the Wiimote should continue to blink until a software connects to it and control the Blue LEDs.

If no software connects to it, it should continue to blink indefinitely.

Regards,
Boon Jin

Smoothboard
Wii Whiteboard/Wiimote Whiteboard with annotation features and collaborate with multiple iPads and Android Tablets!

Smoothboard for Mac
Using a Mac? Now you can annotate on PowerPoint or Keynote slideshows!

BoonJin[/url


Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #2 on: October 25, 2010, 08:09:10 PM
I tried smoothboard and it finally made the wiimote only light up the number 1 led. But still, all the apps that I listed above say not connected.



Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #3 on: October 26, 2010, 08:37:49 PM
including smothboard. Smoothboard will actually make the number 1 led light up but then smoothboard will tell me it is not connected



Offline boonjin

  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: +28/-0
  • Smoothboard Developer
    • View Profile
    • Smoothboard
Reply #4 on: October 26, 2010, 09:13:06 PM
Hi,

Most probably you have multiple HID devices listed.

You may want to try to remove the items in the HID Device List found in Device Manager.

Regards,
Boon Jin

Smoothboard
Wii Whiteboard/Wiimote Whiteboard with annotation features and collaborate with multiple iPads and Android Tablets!

Smoothboard for Mac
Using a Mac? Now you can annotate on PowerPoint or Keynote slideshows!

BoonJin[/url


Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #5 on: October 26, 2010, 10:48:10 PM
I have listed

Bluetooth HID Device
Bluetooth Remote Control
HID-compliant consumer control device
HID-compliant consumer control device
HID-compliant consumer control device
HID-compliant consumer control device
USB Human Interface Device
USB Human Interface Device

I have a bluetooth mouse and bluetooth headphones that I use. Which ones should I delete?



Offline boonjin

  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: +28/-0
  • Smoothboard Developer
    • View Profile
    • Smoothboard
Reply #6 on: October 26, 2010, 11:35:16 PM
You may try to remove all the HID-compliant consumer control devices.

After that, you may reinstall the drivers for your mouse and/or keyboard.

Smoothboard
Wii Whiteboard/Wiimote Whiteboard with annotation features and collaborate with multiple iPads and Android Tablets!

Smoothboard for Mac
Using a Mac? Now you can annotate on PowerPoint or Keynote slideshows!

BoonJin[/url


Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #7 on: October 27, 2010, 09:00:08 AM
Didn't help. Same problem as before. Absolutely no change.



Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #8 on: October 27, 2010, 09:11:42 AM
again, smoothboard will learn it. the mac address shows up green, the num 1 led light on the remote lights up, windows says the device was succefully installed, then smoothboard launches and says "Error reading data from Wiimote...is it connected?".

I guess I don't have the magical combination of hardware and software for this to work. So like hundreds and hundreds (and thousands if my google search was any indicator) of people who will never be able to use this. I thought this had been going on for years and all of the wrinkles would be ironed out, but clearly not. I don't see this ever working for me.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2010, 09:22:34 AM by mscheaf »



Offline boonjin

  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: +28/-0
  • Smoothboard Developer
    • View Profile
    • Smoothboard
Reply #9 on: October 27, 2010, 10:01:49 AM
Hi,

You may want to set Smoothboard to connect to multiple Wiimotes instead. You can go to Smoothboard Settings->General->Wiimote.

Connection to the Wiimote with Smoothboard is actually quite easy if you have the right components. We have thousands of users who are actively using Smoothboard.

Regards,
Boon Jin

Smoothboard
Wii Whiteboard/Wiimote Whiteboard with annotation features and collaborate with multiple iPads and Android Tablets!

Smoothboard for Mac
Using a Mac? Now you can annotate on PowerPoint or Keynote slideshows!

BoonJin[/url


Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #10 on: October 27, 2010, 10:07:46 AM
already tried that too. I am not trying to be rude but I have already tried just about every tip and trick on this site and nothing works.

So what are these "right components" you are talking about? Specifics? Do I need different hardware. It is clearly not going to work with the dell built in bluetooth. That is obvious. I have been trying to cconnect for 5 days. It is not going to work with what I have.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2010, 10:09:20 AM by mscheaf »



Offline boonjin

  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: +28/-0
  • Smoothboard Developer
    • View Profile
    • Smoothboard
Reply #11 on: October 27, 2010, 10:37:18 AM
Hi,

I have actually two different Dell laptops using the same Bluetooth device as yours and it connects without issues.

For your case, if you still would like to try it please do post or send to us a screenshot of your Device Manager with the expanded HID device list.

Also, you have mentioned that the first Blue LED is lighted up but the connection error is still shown. If you press the A button on the Wiimote, anything happens? There is a possibility that you are having a faulty Wiimote.

Thanks.

Regards,
Boon Jin

Smoothboard
Wii Whiteboard/Wiimote Whiteboard with annotation features and collaborate with multiple iPads and Android Tablets!

Smoothboard for Mac
Using a Mac? Now you can annotate on PowerPoint or Keynote slideshows!

BoonJin[/url


Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #12 on: October 27, 2010, 10:39:04 AM
I listed everything the device manager list has above. Nothing happens when the a button is pressed. This is a genuine wii remote that works fine on the wii and has full batteries.



Offline boonjin

  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Karma: +28/-0
  • Smoothboard Developer
    • View Profile
    • Smoothboard
Reply #13 on: October 27, 2010, 10:42:00 AM
Then, when you have removed the HID-compliant devices, the list should have been changed

Smoothboard
Wii Whiteboard/Wiimote Whiteboard with annotation features and collaborate with multiple iPads and Android Tablets!

Smoothboard for Mac
Using a Mac? Now you can annotate on PowerPoint or Keynote slideshows!

BoonJin[/url


Offline mscheaf

  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reply #14 on: October 27, 2010, 11:02:47 AM
and when i installed my mouse and tried to reinstall the wii remote the list ended up the exact same.